PMB approves appointment of Chairman, members of National Commission for persons with disabilities


By Our Reporter

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the composition of the Governing Council and appointment of Executive Secretary of the National Commission for Persons with Disabilities in line with the Discrimination against Persons with Disabilities (Prohibition Act 2019.)

According to the Act, the Commission shall be headed by a Part-Time Chairman and six Members who shall be Persons with Disabilities representing the geo-political zones of the federation subject to confirmation of the Senate for a four-year term of office in the first instance, and may be reappointed for a second term of four years and no more.

The Executive Secretary, who shall be responsible to the Council for the implementation of the policies and administration of the daily affairs of the Commission, shall also be a Person with Disability with five-year tenure in the first instance, and may be reappointed for a second term and no more.

In a statement issued on Monday by the Special Adviser to President Buhari on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina,  Hon. Dr.Hussaini Suleiman, North-west has  been appointed as the Chairman, while  James David Lalu appointed as the Executive Secretary.

Other members are; Onyejelam Jaja (South-east), Philomena Isioma Konwea (South-south), Omopariola Busuyi Oluwasola (South-west), Amina Rahma Audu (North-west) Mrs Esther Andrew Awu (North-central) and Abba Audu Ibrahim (North-east).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here