Akeredolu emerges winner of Ondo State governorship election


ByvOur Reporter

The Independent National Electoral Commissio, INEC had declared the candidate of the All Progressive Congress, APC, Rotimi Akeredolu as the winner of the just concluded Ondo State governorship election.

Corereporters report that the result of the election was announced on Sunday by INEC’s Returning Officer, Prof. Abel Idowu Olayinka. While announcing the result, the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ibadan stated that the incumbent governor and APC governorship flag bearer, Rotimi Akeredolu secured 292,840 votes as against his closest rival, Eyitayo Jegede of the People Democratic Party, PDP who got 195, 791 votes.

Meanwhile, Deputy Gov. Agboola Ajayi scored 69,127 votes to comes third behind Jegede of PDP and Akeredolu of APC the winner.

However, the first tenure of Akeredolu and Ajayi hia deputy and rival at the just concluded election will expire on February 23, 2021, secured 25% of votes in all the 18 Local governments Area of the states and emerged victorious in 15 of the 18 LGAs.

Akeredolu however, tweets in his tweeter handle, “We just ended PDP career in Ondo State like we #EndSARS in Nigeria. Thank you All, thank you APC.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here