Military hands over 9 Oil theft suspects, vessel to EFCC


Chief of Army Staff, Lieutenant General Tukur Yusuf Buratai

By Our Reporter

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), Port Harcourt’s Zonal office, on Friday took over a vessel, christened MT Morris alongside nine crew members.

The suspects are; Felix Eboh,  Ovie Idisi,  Bob Davies,  Ojo Sunday,  Oluwale Olaitan,  Orok Oyo,  Godwin Okpaje, Francis Chinbo and Olanioyi Goodness.

In a statement, the Head, Media & Publicity, EFCC, Dele Oyewale said a representative of Sector Three of the Joint Military Task Force, Operation Delta safe, Colonel N.C.E Ejike, who led the handing over,  said the suspects and the vessel were arrested by officers of 29 Battalion,  Nigeria Army, deployed for anti-bunkering operations at Bile in Degema Local Government Area of Rivers State.  They were nabbed while siphoning petroleum products suspected to be crude oil from a pipeline,

Receiving the suspects and exhibits,  the representative of the  Head of the Port Harcourt Zonal Office of the EFCC and Head Extractive Industry Fraud Section, Ani Davis Stanley, thanked the officers and men of the Joint Task Force for their efforts and commitment towards combating illegal oil bunkering activities and safeguarding the nation’s maritime domain.

He promised that the EFCC will utilize the power vested in it to ensure that justice is served.

The suspects will  be charged to court as soon as investigation is  concluded.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here