Buhari names railway stations after GEJ, Aikhomu, Tinubu, others


Former President, Goodluck Jonathan

By Corereporters

Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari on Monday approved the naming of some railway stations along the Lagos-Ibadan and Itakpe/Ajaokuta/Aladja/Warri corridors after some citizens.

Minister of Transportation Rotimi Amaechi in a statement by his spokesman, Eric Ojiekwe, said that the deserving citizens have contributed to the progress and development of their respective communities and the nation at large.

Former President Goodluck Jonathan, erstwhile Chief of General Staff in the Ibrahim Babangida regime Late Admiral Augustus Aikhomu and  former Lagos State Governor/All Progressive Con gress (APC), national leader, Ahmed Tinubu were among those honoured.

While the Agbor Station Complex was named after Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, Itogbo station was named after Admiral Augustus Aikhomu and  Apapa station was named after Tinubu.

 The Kajola station was named after Prof Osinbajo and Abeokuta station was named after Prof. Soyinka, while Ajaokuta station was named after the late Saraki.

Also honoured are Mobolaji Johnson (Ebute Metta Station), Babatunde Raji Fashola (Agege station), Lateef Jakande (Agbado station) and Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti (Papalanto station).

Others are Aremo Segun Osoba(Olodo station), Chief Ladoka Akintola (Omio-Adio station), Chief Obafemi Awolowo (Ibadan station), Chief Alex Ekwueme (Operation Control Centre).

Alhaji Adamu Attah (Itakpe station), Brigadier General George Innih (Agenebode station), Anthony Eromosele Enahoro (Uromi station), Chief Tom Ikimi (Ekehen station) and Brig. Gen. Samuel Osaigbovo Ogbemudia (rtd) (Igbanke station).

Others according to the statement include Brigadier General David Ejoor (Abraka station), Micheal Ibru (Opara station), Alfred Rewane (Ujevwu station) and Vice Admiral Mike Akhigbe (Railway Village, Agbor).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here